Things you never read about

I have learned so much in my 21 weeks of pregnancy, and most of it has been things I never expected. Shortly after finding out I was pregnant, I had extreme restless legs and insomnia…I am talking maybe 4 hours of sleep a night. I got told by many people to get used to it, in a couple months you won’t sleep anyways. Really? My newborn isn’t going to let me sleep a full eight hours? Damn, why did I get myself into this mess? Thanks for the advice and wisgrowingahumandom of all those who informed me that my newborn wasn’t going to sleep. I on the other hand didn’t put my name down to not sleep in my first trimester, but the restless legs and insomnia were a learning experience.

This relaxin hormone shit, like come on, there is nothing relaxing about what you’re doing to my body. I have had terrible sciatica, pinched nerves in my neck, and just fun ol back pain. Lesson learned. I also didn’t know how frail I would be, I basically wasn’t allowed to cross the street by myself. People, people, people I am only growing a child, I am not 100 and dying, let me lift the 2lb box, I think I will survive.

On a real note though, I didn’t know how terrifying it is to be pregnant, worrying every single day about something you have little to no control over. I am eating right, not doing drugs and not tossing em back in the evenings. Why don’t women talk about how scary it is, everyone just says how exciting it is? I am beyond excited to be a mother but I worry everyday something could go wrong. Questions of will he be healthy, will something happen to me. Last week I actually had my anatomy scan, the tech left the room to tell me to change (lovely transvaginal was first) and I couldn’t help but cry in fear, like not finding out would be better. Luckily we have a healthy growing boy. I on the other hand was told to not worry about my low lying placenta. Alright, makes perfect sense, tell a hormone enraged women to not worry. But I am sure this is the tip of the iceberg of the things I have yet to learn. – Lauren

Leave a comment